Research Guides: English Language and Literature: Primary Sources

Primary Sources

The library has access to many repositories that focus on primary source materials related to literature dating as far back as the 13th century and running up until the present. On this page you will find a list of some of our recommended resources as well as a helpful video describing what primary sources can include. Depending on your research topic the Special Collections and Archives here at Brock might be a great resource to explore as well.

Iter Italicum This link opens in a new window
- Find listings and citations of classical, medieval and Renaissance manuscripts.
- Permitted Uses
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
- Find letters and diaries of 500 women from 1500-1900. Includes biographies and bibliographies.
- Permitted Uses
Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window
- Digitizations of every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, British North America and other English language works, from 1473-1700
- Subjects include English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science
- Permitted Uses
Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
- Find books, articles, letters, speeches and other texts of black leaders.
- Coverage: 1700-current
- Permitted Uses
Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama and Fiction This link opens in a new window
- Find poems, plays, and prose by Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican and other Latin writers working in the United States, as well as playbills, posters, and other ephemera.
- Coverage: 1800-current
- Permitted Uses
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO), Part I and Part II This link opens in a new window
- Historical works on every English-language and foreign-language title published in the UK between 1701 to 1800 with thousands of works from the Americas
- Disciplines include, Law; Religion and Philosophy; Literature and Language; Medicine; Science and Technology; Social Science and Fine Arts; Reference; and History and Geography
- Permitted Uses
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
- Includes meaning, history, etymology, and pronunciation of words
- English language words from 1150 to the present
- Permitted Uses

English Language and Literature

Need Help?

Primary Sources

What are Primary and Secondary Sources?