Research Guides: Canadian Studies: Key Resources

Key Resources

Looking to start your research, but are unsure where to begin? On this page you'll find some of the library's recommended sources that focus on Canadian scholarly material, periodicals and books . It should be noted that this is a limited list and since Canadian Studies examines Canadian culture and society from a variety of disciplines, its can be helpful to check out other research guides depending on your research topic or context (e.g. for medical issues in Canada, look in the Health Sciences or Nursing guides).

CPI.Q (Canadian Periodicals) This link opens in a new window
- This database is Interdisciplinary and can include material that is created by Canadian publications, authors and researchers, but focuses on other parts of the world as well as Canada.
- Find scholarly journal articles, magazines and newspapers published in Canada
- Check out the "Topic finder" tool and see how it can help you find related material to your topic or explore areas of research you didn't know about.
- Coverage: 1988-current ; full text articles available from 1995 to the present.
- Permitted Uses
- Coverage: 1988-current ; full text articles available from 1995 to the present.
Scholars Portal E-books This link opens in a new window
- NOTE: This database is Interdisciplinary and you will need to change the collection type by clicking the drop down menu next to the "collection" field and selecting the appropriate collection
- Possible collections of interest include;
  - Canadian Electronic Library (CRKN)
  - Canadian Public Documents Collection
  - Canadian Think Tank Collection
  - Permitted Uses
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database This link opens in a new window
- Interdisciplinary
- Find scholarly journal articles, magazines and newspapers published in Canada
- Includes research related to Canadian Business, Agriculture, Politics, culture and much more.
- Permitted Uses

Scholarly Articles

Scholarly articles are commonly required as part of university-level assignments. This is because scholarly articles are written by scholars or experts and have been approved by other experts in the field through a rigorous review processes such as peer-review. Scholarly articles are not without flaws, but their publication process includes many steps for verifying facts, reducing bias, and identifying conflicts of interest.

Find Scholarly Articles:

Tip: Many databases house a variety of information sources (not just scholarly articles). If you want to only see scholarly articles in your results, look for a way to limit to "peer-reviewed" or "academic articles" or another similar option to take out any results that are not scholarly articles. These options can usually be found in the advanced search section of a databases or in within the limiter options on the side of the results list.