Research Guides: French Studies: Books

Books

On this page you will find both print and digital resources to help with your studies. There are many e-book collections as well as print materials we have within the Brock Library that relate to the subjects and courses you are taking. Try exploring these collections by using different combinations of keywords related to your topics. Books and e-books can be excellent sources of both general (background research material, dictionaries and encyclopedias) as well as more specific information like collections of scholarly essays.

Socius This link opens in a new window
- Find full-text French language articles, books and materials in literature and sociology.
  - 15 bibliographies containing more than 7000 references. 50 reprinted classic books and articles.
    70 concepts explained by specialists
Erudit This link opens in a new window
- A Quebec-based, North American French-language scholarly database that includes journal articles, books, conference proceedings, theses, and documents.
- Permitted Uses

Omni This link opens in a new window
- Brock's largest Interdisciplinary search tool
- Millions of journal articles, books & ebooks, newspapers, videos, magazines and more!
- Try using the "Language" Filter to limit to French and the "Resource Type" Filter to limit to books or book chapters

Penser le Roman Francophone Contemporain
ISBN: 2760641597
Publication Date: 2020
Cet ouvrage au titre ambitieux constitue moins un état des lieux qu'une interrogation sur un genre protéiforme dont l'expansion semble illimitée et qui occupe de plus en plus la scène littéraire. La première question concerne la notion de francophonie elle-même, ensemble hétérogène et extrêmement complexe. En effet, comment désigner les diverses littératures francophones sans les marginaliser ou les exclure, tout en prenant acte de leur statut singulier?
Manikanetish : petite Marguerite by Fontaine, Naomi
ISBN: 9782897124892
Publication Date: 2017
Une enseignante de français en poste sur une réserve innue de la Côte-Nord raconte la vie de ses élèves qui cherchent à se prendre en main. Elle tentera tout pour les sortir de la détresse, même se lancer en théâtre avec eux. Dans ces voix, regards et paysages se détachent la lutte et l'espoir
Les Traductions Comme Textes Politiques by Francesca Piselli (Editor); Fausto Proietti (Editor)
ISBN: 9782406070962
Publication Date: 2017-11-08
Cet ouvrage témoigne d'un travail collectif et multidisciplinaire consacré à la traduction comme modalité possible de l'action politique dans les contextes linguistiques français et italien et sur une période assez vaste allant du XVIe au XXe siècle.
Le métier d'intendant en France et en Nouvelle-France au XVIIIe siècle
ISBN: 9782894489437
Publication Date: 2018
Que nous révèlent les documents produits par l'intendant sur sa pratique? Quelle est la nature de son pouvoir? Comparer l'intendance au Canada et dans les généralités de Bretagne et de Tours entre 1700 et 1750 permet de voir émerger les traits communs, mais aussi les disparités liées à la proximité ou à l'éloignement de Versailles. C'est toute l'histoire d'une institution qui se révèle et, avec elle, les rapports entre administrateurs et administrés.