Research Guides: History: Articles

Scholarly Articles

Scholarly articles are commonly required as part of university-level assignments. This is because scholarly articles are written by scholars or experts and have been approved by other experts in the field through a rigorous review processes such as peer-review. Scholarly articles are not without flaws, but their publication process includes many steps for verifying facts, reducing bias, and identifying conflicts of interest.

Find Scholarly Articles:

Tip: Many databases house a variety of information sources (not just scholarly articles). If you want to only see scholarly articles in your results, look for a way to limit to "peer-reviewed" or "academic articles" or another similar option to take out any results that are not scholarly articles. These options can usually be found in the advanced search section of a databases or in within the limiter options on the side of the results list.

Databases

Be sure to consider the historical era and geographical region you wish to study.

History of Science, Technology and Medicine This link opens in a new window
- Find scholarly research on the history of science, technology, and medicine from prehistory to the present.
- Limited to 2 simultaneous users.
- Permitted Uses
Indigenous Peoples of North America This link opens in a new window
- A collection of primary sources that explores the impact of invasion and colonization on Indigenous Peoples in North America, and the intersection of Indigenous and European histories and systems of knowledge.
- Coverage: 1665-1988
- Permitted Uses
International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- Scholarly literature covering all subjects relating to the Middle Ages (400-1500).
- Limited to 3 simultaneous users.
- Permitted Uses
iPortal: Indigenous Studies Portal Research Tool This link opens in a new window
- Collected resources with a focus on First Nations and Indigenous peoples of Canada, and a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond.
- Includes books, articles, theses and documents as well as digitized materials such as photographs, archival resources, maps, etc.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and much more.
- Permitted Uses
- This database provides indexing of historical articles from more than 1,800 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. With over 800,000 records and access to the full text of more than 349 journals and more than 120 books, Historical Abstracts with Full Text is a great resource for historical and related social science literature.