Research Guides: History: Key Resources

Key Resources

Key resources are your best bet when you're looking to get started with research right away. Please read the descriptions carefully and if you are needing further support, please don't hesitate to reach out to us at the library!

Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and much more.
- Permitted Uses
- This database provides indexing of historical articles from more than 1,800 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. With over 800,000 records and access to the full text of more than 349 journals and more than 120 books, Historical Abstracts with Full Text is a great resource for historical and related social science literature.
America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- Scholarly literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present
- Coverage:1955-present
- Permitted Uses
Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
- Access to the renowned texts of the Cambridge Histories ebook series.
- Browse by subject to find historical research related to your subject area.
- Permitted Uses
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- Database of journal articles and books across the humanities, social sciences, sciences, and business.
- Most content is more than 3 years old
- Permitted Uses
- Brock has fulltext access to a subset of JSTOR eBooks including Music Set 1 (2016), Film Sets 1-3 (2017), and Language & Literature Sets 1-2 (2017).
- A Database Guide is available.
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
- Search across nine primary source databases simultaneously: British Library Newspapers, The Economist Historical Archive, Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO), The Times Digital Archive, The Illustrated London News Historical Archive (1842-2003), the Burney Newspapers Collection, Archives of Sexuality & Gender, Indigenous Peoples of North America, and the Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive.
- Coverage: 1603-2015
- Permitted Uses
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window
- Covers all aspects of the culture, history, and life of Indigenous peoples in North America.
- Topics include archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy.
- Permitted Uses