Research Guides: Social Justice and Equity Studies: Articles

Databases

Here are a list of some databases to try if you are looking for scholarly articles related to Social Justice and Equity Studies. Topics in social justice are by nature quite interdisciplinary. As such, the research intersects with many fields. What this means for the researcher is that there isn't a single search tool or database that will cover your topic, it can be helpful to check out other research guides depending on your research topic or context.

ProQuest Sociology Collection This link opens in a new window
- All aspects of sociology and social work
- Includes ProQuest Sociology Database, Sociological Abstracts, and Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA)
- Permitted Uses
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
- Interdisciplinary coverage of gender-related topics, women's studies, men's studies, ethnic studies, health and sexual diversity issues
- Permitted Uses
- Find scholarly journal articles, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, reports, dissertations, studies, important websites, and multimedia publications
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- Criminal justice and criminology research.
- Subjects include forensic sciences, corrections, policing, criminal law and investigation.
- Permitted Uses
Humanities Index This link opens in a new window
- Scholarly journals, weekly magazines and newspapers with a focus on humanities disciplines.
- Permitted Uses
- Major areas of coverage include: architecture, archaeology, art, antiques, cinema, classics, contemporary cultural studies, education, economics, environment, gender studies, history, language, law, linguistics, literature, music, political science, religion, theatre.
- Coverage: 1962-current
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- Database of journal articles and books across the humanities, social sciences, sciences, and business.
- Most content is more than 3 years old
- Permitted Uses
- Brock has fulltext access to a subset of JSTOR eBooks including Music Set 1 (2016), Film Sets 1-3 (2017), and Language & Literature Sets 1-2 (2017).
- A Database Guide is available.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- Literature and criticism across the humanities and social sciences
- Coverage: 1993-current
- Permitted Uses
PhilPapers This link opens in a new window
- Find scholarly journal articles, papers, books, book chapters, archives and reviews.
- Permitted Uses

Theses & Dissertations databases

Theses (Masters, BSc) and dissertations (PhD) are essential sources of information. Different search engines and databases provide both unique and overlapping coverage of these types of documents.

Theses & Dissertations
A comprehensive guide to Library databases and sources to identify theses and dissertations.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
- Full text access for dissertations since 1997 and citation level access to dissertations and theses from 1861
- Includes U.S. dissertations and theses, and also includes content from the UK and Ireland as well as some Canadian and international content.
- Note that most Brock University theses and dissertations are not included in this collection, but are available in the Brock University Digital Repository
- Interdisciplinary
- Permitted Uses
Theses Canada Portal This link opens in a new window
- Lists all Canadian theses archived by the National Library of Canada since 1965, with links to fulltext where available.
- Theses not available in full text can be borrowed via Interlibrary Loan.
- Terms of Use from Publisher Site
Brock Theses This link opens in a new window
- Electronic versions of Brock Masters and PhD degrees.
- Print copies are no longer available for most graduate theses (except M.Ed. degrees, available in the Instructional Resource Centre, Faculty of Education).
- Coverage: 1969-present
- Terms of Use from Publisher Site
Thesis and Dissertation guide
OpenDissertations This link opens in a new window
- An open-access database built to assist researchers in locating both historic and contemporary dissertations and theses.
- Incorporates American Doctoral Dissertations, and features additional dissertation metadata contributed by select colleges and universities from around the world.
- Coverage: Early 20th century-present
- Terms of Use from Publisher Site
Global ETD Search This link opens in a new window
- Find e-theses and dissertations archived in the Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) archive.

OpenThesis
OpenThesis is a free repository of theses, dissertations, and other academic documents, coupled with powerful search, organization, and collaboration tools.
WorldCat
Identify unique dissertations and theses not duplicated by other databases. Limit your search at any time by the filter Content: Thesis/dissertations.