Skip to main content



Data & Statistics

Sources and support for finding and using numerical, spatial, and statistical data.

International Data & Statistics

This page includes some commonly used resources, but there are many many more sources from other countries and international organizations. Most countries have a bureau, department, or ministry of statistics. Try a google search for [country name] national statistics to start. Email the Data Librarian if you can't find what you need.


UNdata 
A compilation of data from United Nations agencies and other international sources. Data can be retrieved by country or topic and viewed on screen or downloaded in a variety of formats. Public access.

UN Statistical Yearbook
International Statistics from the UN Statistical Division. Public access.

International Data Base (IDB)
Find demographic indicators, population pyramids, and source information for countries and areas of the world with a population of 5,000 or more. More Information about the IDB. Public access.

Eurostat 
Provides statistical comparisons between European Union countries and regions. Public access.

World Bank Databases
Free access to the World Development Indicators Global Development Finance, Africa Development Indicators, and Global Economic Monitor. Public access.

International Monetary Fund Data
Several datasets from the International Monetary Fund, including International Financial Statistics which contains economic and financial time series data covering more than 200 countries and areas.

United States

FedStats
Access to statistical information from more than 100 U.S. federal agencies. Public access.

data.gov
United States government open data portal. Public access.

U.S. Census Bureau
The leading source of data about America's people and economy. Public access.

Statistical Abstract of the United States 
Statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the U.S., 1878 - 2012. Public access.
Library also has print for 1921, 1944-2003, 2004/05, 2006-2010, 2012-present
7th floor Government Documents US1 DD40 A52

Bureau of Labor Statistics
Includes U.S. prices, employment and productivity statistics. Public access.

Historical Statistics of the United States
Summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Public access.

Australia, New Zealand & United Kingdom

Australian Bureau of Statistics
Social and economic statistics for Australia. Includes Census statistics.


New Zealand Statistics
Social and economic statistics for New Zealand. Includes Census statistics.


UK Office for National Statistics 
Statistics for UK economy, population, and society at national and local level. Includes Census statistics.

British Historical Statistics (print only)
Historical social and economic statistics for the UK.
HA 1134 M58 1988 (9th Floor)