Research Guides: Management: News Sources

News and Magazine Articles

Use news and magazine articles in your research to identify trends and issues or controversies that have been made public by investigative journalists. These articles assist in reviewing how companies present information about themselves to the public and mitigate or address public relations issues.

With many newspapers and magazines starting to lock their articles behind subscriptions and paywalls, Brock students, faculty, and staff have access to news for free using the following recommended databases.

Factiva This link opens in a new window
- A current international news database from Dow Jones which provides access to premium content from 200 countries, in 28 languages.
- Users have access to a wide range of information from newspapers, newswires, industry publications, websites, company reports, and more.
- Permitted Uses
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database This link opens in a new window
- Interdisciplinary
- Find scholarly journal articles, magazines and newspapers with a Canadian perspective.
- Permitted Uses
Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- Full text of over 400 Canadian news sources.
- Most titles are updated daily, and some date as far back as the late 1970s.
- Permitted Uses
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- International news, business, and legal sources
- Includes Company Dossier module for detailed company information and Shepard's Citations for federal and state court cases back to 1789
- Permitted Uses
ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
- Find scholarly journals, books, trade publications, dissertations, working papers, company, industry and market research reports, newspapers, business cases, ebooks, streaming video, and other sources relevant to research in business and economics.
- Permitted Uses
- Includes the ABI/Inform Collection, J. P. Morgan Research, the Entrepreneurship Database, the Business Video Database, the Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection, the Asian & European Business Collection, and the Business Market Research Collection. More Information.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- All disciplines of business
- Find scholarly business journals, trade journals and business magazines
- Includes company profiles, industry reports, market research reports, country economic reports
- Permitted Uses