A detailed guide to conducting research on companies, nonprofits, charities, and industries. Look up NAICS codes, find competitors, industry profiles, financial ratios by industry.
Best Sources for Company or Industry News & Analysis
You can find articles in newspapers, magazines, trade journals, or academic journals (also referred to as peer-reviewed or scholarly journals) on companies and industries by searching in one of these Library Databases:
Best for Academic & Trade Journals and Business Magazines!
ProQuest One BusinessThis link opens in a new windowFind scholarly journals, books, trade publications, dissertations, working papers, company, industry and market research reports, newspapers, business cases, ebooks, streaming video, and other sources relevant to research in business and economics.Permitted Uses
Includes the ABI/Inform Collection, J. P. Morgan Research, the Entrepreneurship Database, the Business Video Database, the Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection, the Asian & European Business Collection, and the Business Market Research Collection. More Information.
Business Source CompleteThis link opens in a new windowAll disciplines of businessFind scholarly business journals, trade journals and business magazinesIncludes company profiles, industry reports, market research reports, country economic reportsPermitted Uses
Best for Canadian News!
Canadian NewsstreamThis link opens in a new windowUse to find articles in the major Canadian daily newspapers such as the Globe and Mail, the National Post, as well as major city papers such as the Toronto Star.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowIndex to articles in journals, magazines and newspapers published in Canada. You can search by NAICS code.
CPI.Q (Canadian Periodicals)This link opens in a new windowIndex to articles in journals, magazines and newspapers published in Canada including some fulltext articles. You cannot search by NAICS code. Use the Subject Guide search tab to search for articles on your industry or on competitors.
Coverage: 1988-current ; full text articles available from 1995 to the present.
Best for Global News!
Access World NewsThis link opens in a new windowAn extensive collection of local, regional and national newspapers from countries all over the world. Includes all major local Niagara papers.Permitted Uses
FactivaThis link opens in a new windowA current international news database from Dow Jones which provides access to premium content from 200 countries, in 28 languages.Users have access to a wide range of information from newspapers, newswires, industry publications, websites, company reports, and more.Permitted Uses
Nexis UniThis link opens in a new windowUse to find articles in newspapers, newswires, or magazines from Canada and around the world.
