Patent Databases
Google Patent Search
Full-text patent documents including Canada, China, EPO, U.S. and WIPO patents.
Canadian Patent Database
Patents submitted to the Canadian Intellectual Property Office (CIPO) since 1869, updated weekly, searchable by bibliographic record and abstract when available and International Patent Classification (IPC) system.
Canadian Trademarks Database
This database is comprised of all active and many inactive trade-marks that were either applied for, or registered pursuant to the current Trade-marks Act or former trade-mark legislation.
Espacenet (EPO)
The European Patent Office (EPO)provides free access to international patents from more than 90+ countries including Canada, U.S. and records for non-patent literature cited in EPO search reports. Search by smart, advanced or classification search engines including the Cooperative Patent Classification (CPC) or International Patent Classification (IPC) systems. Offers an online patent translator function for many languages including Chinese.
Free Patents Online Allows for the searching of national patent offices, can search U.S. granted patents and published patent applications simultaneously.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library International IEEE electrical engineering and related discipline full text standards.
JP-PlatPat (Japan Patent Office) Japanese patents, utility models and designs from 1922 to the present, English language interface.
Intellectual Property Digital Library
Provides access to intellectual property data collections hosted by the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO).
The Lens An aggregator of scholarly information including patent searching and citation tracking capabilities.
U.S. Patent and Trademark Office Databases
Patents from 1790, applications from 2001 forward, separate databases for granted and published patent applications.
PATENTSCOPE (WIPO)
International and national patent collections including 51+ regional and national offices including Canada, China, EPO, Japan, Korea, Russia, the U.K. and U.S.
Patent Lens (Cambia)
A worldwide, open-access, free full-text patent informatics resource including bioinformatics and biologicals.
SciFinder (CAS)
CAS patent coverage from varying 63+ patent authorities, updated constantly, cited within 2 days and fully indexed within 27 days of date of issue, including Canada, EPO, Japan, Russia, U.K., U.S., and WIPO for varying years and CAS selection criteria based on IPC and USPTO classification codes. Access to the SciFinder database requires a username and password that is different from your Brock portal account information. Users must first register for an account.
Patent Search Tools
Cooperative Patent Classification (CPC)
Replaces WIPO IPC, EPO ECLA, and USPTO USPC classification schemes.
International Patent Classifications
World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)
U.S. Patent Classification Definitions
U.S. Patent Classification Index
U.S. Patent Classification Schedule
Patent Resources including blogs, magazines, ebooks and guides
eBooks of potential interest