Research Guides: MBAB 5P41: Financial Statement Analysis: 2: Financial Data Sources

Financial Statements & Ratios

Most public companies will post relevant financial information (e.g. financial statements and quarterly earnings releases and recent stock prices) on the Investor Relations section of their corporate web site.
Public Company securities filings (Annual Reports and 10Ks) are also available from the sites of security regulators.

Mergent Market Atlas This link opens in a new window Contains global business and financial data including company and industry profiles and annual reports.Coverage: Current plus up to 15 years of historical data.Until June 2025 this content is also available on the legacy Mergent Online platform.Permitted Uses
S&P Capital IQ This link opens in a new window Contains financial data, analytics and research.Combines deep information on companies, markets and people worldwide with robust tools for analysis, idea generation and workflow management.Covers equities, fixed income, capital structure, credit ratings, transactions, private equity, ownership, macroeconomics and commodities.NOTE: Brock students, faculty, and staff must register individually as a New User using their Brock University email address & follow the directions to complete self-registration.Permitted Uses
Compustat via WRDS This link opens in a new window Financial and market data on publicly traded companies around the world.Includes Compustat Global; Compustat Emerging Markets; Compustat North America.Current faculty, staff and students can register for a 24 hour day pass or create an account. After registering with your Brock email, you will receive a confirmation email with a link and instructions.Please see our WRDS access guide for more information.Permitted Uses

IBISWorld Industry Research Database This link opens in a new window
- Industry Financial Ratios available for over 700 US industries. Data source: RMA Annual Statement Studies. Excel versions of ratios may be downloaded.
- The Library subscribes to the following modules in IBISWorld: Canada Industry Reports (NAICS), United States Industry Reports (NAICS), Canada Industry iExpert Summaries, United States Industry iExpert Summaries, United States Specialized Industry Reports, United States Specialized Industry iExpert Summaries, China Industry Reports (200 industries), Canada Industry Provincial Reports (50+ Ontario industries), and Canada Collection of Macroeconomic Business Environment Profiles.

Most economic data is freely available on the following Open Access data portals:

If you cannot find the economic data that you need via one of the free resources, your best option is to look in one of the following databases: S&P Capital IQ, Mergent Online, or Bloomberg.
- S&P Capital IQ contains macroeconomic time series data, interest rates, and other market data with extensive global coverage.
- Mergent Online contains economic data for G7 countries (Australia, Canada, China, France, Germany, Japan, UK, USA). Time series data can be downloaded as Excel files.

S&P Capital IQ This link opens in a new window Contains financial data, analytics and research.Combines deep information on companies, markets and people worldwide with robust tools for analysis, idea generation and workflow management.Covers equities, fixed income, capital structure, credit ratings, transactions, private equity, ownership, macroeconomics and commodities.NOTE: Brock students, faculty, and staff must register individually as a New User using their Brock University email address & follow the directions to complete self-registration.Permitted Uses
Mergent Market Atlas This link opens in a new window Contains global business and financial data including company and industry profiles and annual reports.Coverage: Current plus up to 15 years of historical data.Until June 2025 this content is also available on the legacy Mergent Online platform.Permitted Uses
Bloomberg Professional This link opens in a new window Up-to-the-minute news and prices from financial markets around the world.Subjects include, equities, money markets, currencies, bonds, commodities, mortgage-backed securities, and derivatives.Access provided by Goodman School of Business, Brock University.Permitted Uses

Morningstar
Yahoo! Finance US (news website)
Scan Business & Finance news headlines, access free current and historical market data on stocks, mutual funds, options, ETFs, bonds, commodities, and currencies. Historical price data may be downloaded to a spreadsheet.
TMXMoney (news website)
This site from the TMX Group allows you to research Canadian and U.S. equity markets with detailed statistics on market activity, quotes, and news. It also includes free access to the most recent S&P Stock Reports and S&P Market Access Company Profiles for Canadian companies.
Other Investment Research Sites
Provides links to additional investment research sites

Compustat via WRDS This link opens in a new window
Includes daily and monthly security data for North American and Global companies such as EPS, Total Return, etc. Not all variables are available as daily & monthly data.
CRSP US Stock Database via WRDS This link opens in a new window Contains end of day and month-end price, return, and volume data for all listed NYSE, AMEX, and NASDAQ common stocks and basic market indices.Current faculty, staff and students can register for a 24 hour day pass or create an account. After registering with your Brock email, you will receive a confirmation email with a link and instructions.Please see our WRDS access guide for more information.Permitted Uses