Getting Started with Omni

Search Strategies

Omni allows you to search the library's collections and beyond. On this page, you will find information on what is included in Omni and how to search effectively.

What is in Omni?

Omni has a lot to offer:

• All print and electronic titles held by libraries at Brock University Library. This includes all of our books, journals, maps, videos, course readings, and more.
• Many of the digital journal articles, book chapters, and shows that are found in the titles we hold in our collection, but not everything.
• All print titles held by other Omni institutions in Ontario.

You can use Omni to locate titles within library collections at Brock and other Omni libraries. You can also use Omni to explore research topics, but please keep in mind that Omni – like other multidisciplinary databases such as Google Scholar – are not completely comprehensive so you should consult our subject databases and research tools to ensure you have the most comprehensive search possible.

Search scopes

When typing in your keywords, you'll notice that Omni presents different options to adjust the scope of your search (that is, where you are searching). Here's what they mean:

• Brock Library + Omni Libraries: Search for print and electronic titles, and items (e.g., articles), from libraries at Brock and other Ontario universities. You can request items from other Omni libraries directly from the search results.
• Brock Library: Search for print and electronic titles, and items (e.g., articles), from Brock University Library.

By default, your Omni search will show you books and physical items available for you to request at Brock and all participating Ontario Universities. It will also show you online resources provided by Brock such as eBooks, articles and videos. 

Tip: If you only want to see physical items owned by Brock University Library, just select the "Brock Library Print & Physical Items" filter after you search.

When you select "Expand Search Beyond Brock's Collection," you will also see records for digital/electronic materials that Brock Library does not currently subscribe to. This lets you discover potentially relevant materials beyond our collection. While the materials are not immediately available in Omni, you can submit a request via the interlibrary loan service and we will find the material for you.

Construct your search

Searching in Omni is like searching in any academic database. You can search by entering simple keywords, but you can improve your search results by including some of these tips and tricks.