Research Guides: Chemistry: Articles

Articles

Journal articles are scholarly works that go through a quality control process called peer-review before they are published. Several databases provide access to regional, national and international news articles. A select list of databases that include scholarly articles are listed below.

Researchers have access to phone, chat and email support from:

CAS
(Scifinder) Support Center
Reaxys
Support Center

Databases

SciFinder
- Core chemistry, medicine, health, environmental and scientific journals, patents from international agencies, single and multi-step reactions, predicted and experimental property values, reports and dissertations from 1800s-present.
- This database used to be called SciFinder-n, and includes those same features and content.
- Includes CAplus, MEDLINE, CAS Registry, and CASREACTS
- Features include Retrosynthesis, Biosequence, PatentPak, and Methods Synthesis
- For access on and off campus - register for account, create username & password, confirm registration by e-mail
- Disable pop-up blocking while accessing the site.
- Permitted Uses
Quick Reference Guide
Web of Science Complete
- A multidisciplinary database providing up-to-date scientific, technology, and health-related research articles, conference proceedings, chemical data, and indexes in the biological sciences.
- Permitted Uses
- Provides simultaneous access to Web of Science Core Collection, MEDLINE, BIOSIS, ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Citation Index, Index Chemicus and several other scholarly collections.
Google Scholar
- Find Peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations
- Off-Campus access to Brock resources is available to users who configure their Google Scholar Settings as follows:
  1. Click on Scholar Settings
  2. Select 'Library links' from the left menu
  3. Type Brock in the Library links box, and click the search icon
  4. Select Brock in the resulting list
  5. Click on the 'Save' button
  6. Follow the Find it @ Brock links to access available full-text.

ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication

ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication
ISBN: 9780841235830
The ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication provides students, researchers, educators, and librarians with the instruction and advice they need to master the art of scholarly communication.

ACS Scholarly Communications Quick Style Guide
The ACS Quick Style Guide includes excellent information on writing, scholarship and style.