Research Guides: MACC 5P61: Corporate Governance: Follow the Financial News

Follow the Financial News / Governance in the Business Press

Your professor expects you to be able to follow the financial news (and stories about Corporate Governance in the business press) by regularly scanning sources such as:

The National Post and the Financial Post
The Globe and Mail and the Report of Business Magazine
The Wall Street Journal
The Financial Times
The Economist

Most of these financial news source websites are behind a paywall, so you may only see a preview, rather than the full text of a story, if you are not a subscriber.

The good news is that you can use the Library's Journal Search tool (which also includes newspapers) to identify the source of free full-text access via one of our many Library Databases such as Factiva, Canadian Major Dailies, or Gale Academic One File.
The bad news is that some of these sources have delays (embargoes) ranging from a few days to one month.

Recommended Library Databases

Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window InterdisciplinaryFind mainly English-language peer-reviewed full-text scholarly articles, NPR, CNN and CBC podcasts, news, images, videos, audio files and links.Permitted Uses
ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window Find scholarly journals, books, trade publications, dissertations, working papers, company, industry and market research reports, newspapers, business cases, ebooks, streaming video, and other sources relevant to research in business and economics.Permitted Uses
- Includes the ABI/Inform Collection, J. P. Morgan Research, the Entrepreneurship Database, the Business Video Database, the Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection, the Asian & European Business Collection, and the Business Market Research Collection. More Information.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window All disciplines of businessFind scholarly business journals, trade journals and business magazinesIncludes company profiles, industry reports, market research reports, country economic reportsPermitted Uses
Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window Use to find articles in the major Canadian daily newspapers such as the Globe and Mail and the National Post, as well as major daily newspapers such as the Toronto Star.
CPI.Q (Canadian Periodicals) This link opens in a new window Find multidisciplinary scholarly journal articles magazines and newspapers published in Canada.Permitted Uses
- Coverage: 1988-current ; full text articles available from 1995 to the present.
Economist This link opens in a new window Provides digital access to The Economist magazine's current weekly print edition and online archive back to 1997 . Our subscription does not include the audio edition or the apps.Note: please ignore the Log in or sign up prompt on the Economist.com site.Permitted Uses
Factiva This link opens in a new window A current international news database from Dow Jones which provides access to premium content from 200 countries, in 28 languages.Users have access to a wide range of information from newspapers, newswires, industry publications, websites, company reports, and more.Permitted Uses

Other Useful Search Tools

Journal Search (Omni)

Omni Newspaper Search This link opens in a new window Search current and historical newspaper coverage.

Business & Financial News Sources

Examples of Embargo Delays in Library Databases
Newspaper or Magazine	Database	Delay
The Economist	Economist ProQuest One Business	No Delay Delayed 1 Week
The Globe and Mail	Canadian Major Dailies CPI.Q Factiva	No Delay Delayed 1 Day No Delay
The National Post	Canadian Major Dailies Factiva	Delayed 1 Day No Delay
The Wall Street Journal, Eastern Edition (NY)	ProQuest One Business Factiva	No Delay No Delay
The Financial Times & FT.Com (London, UK)	ProQuest One Business Gale Academic OneFile Factiva	Delayed 1 Month Delayed 1 Month Delayed 1 Month