Research Guides: Chemistry: Chemicals / Drugs

Chemicals and drugs

There are many databases that identify and describe chemicals and drugs. A select list of databases below can be searched by a chemical's common or trade name, CAS Registry number, molecular formula, or structure where appropriate

Reaxys
Substances, reactions, data, linked to articles and patents. Includes chemical structure and property searching.
SciFinder
Requires a unique username/password. ACS small molecules database for searching and property data. Includes chemical registry, reactions, structure and identifier searching.
Sigma-Aldrich
Commercial chemical catalog to include MSDS sheets, availability, chemical identification and structure searching.
Chemexper.com
Search chemicals by structure, name and physical properties.
ChemSpider
RSC's authoritative online source for aggregated chemical information and data for common chemicals.
Common Chemistry (CAS)
Registry of over 7,900 common chemicals of widespread and general public interest.
PubChem (NIH)
Compounds, substances, bioassays, linked to PubMED literature, records and data.
DrugBank
Includes data and commentary on individual drugs, research, and drug knowledge.
Drugs.com
A directory and source about all-things-drugs including regulations, alerts and data. Browse drug classifications or by generic, trade or chemical name.
FooDB
FooDB is the world’s largest and most comprehensive database on food constituents, chemistry and biology.

Books of interest

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics by John Rumble (Editor)
Call Number: Current print edition (2022/23) on Reserve, older edition in the stacks FL5 QD 65 C498.
Publication Date: 2022/2023
Merck Index (RSC) by Royal Society of Chemistry
Call Number: Available in print FL5 RS 51 M4 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Mosby's 2024 Nursing Drug Reference by Linda Skidmore-Roth
Call Number: Read Online
Publication Date: 2023-06-21