Research Guides: Engineering: Grey Literature

Grey Literature

Grey literature databases identify resources that are key to research and scholarship. Many are open resources that go through a quality control process before they are published.

ASCE Library This link opens in a new window
- Provides full-text access journals, conference proceedings, ebooks and standards published by the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE).
- Indexes authoritative information on all aspects of civil and environmental engineering from 1872 to the present.
- Permitted Uses
ASM Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
- A comprehensive and authoritative guide to the structure, properties, processing, performance, and evaluation of metals and nonmetallic engineering materials.
- This is the digital version of the ASM Handbook series, and includes access to all current handbooks, archived handbooks, and desk editions.

Definitions are scholarly dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks that help define terms and provide additional context.

Concise Dictionary of Engineering (2014)

Science Technology & Society: An Encyclopedia (2005)

Dictionary of Electronics and Electrical Engineering (2018)

Dictionary of Chemical Engineering (2014)

Dictionary of Mechanical Engineering (2019)

Handbook of Sustainable Engineering (2013)

Handbook of Ecological and Ecosystems Engineering (2012)

Routledge Handbook of Sustainable Design (2018)

Patents are legal documents issued by a national or international patent agency that document an intellectual property to an exclusive invention, product or process

Standards are important documents that define a set of technical definitions, specifications, and guidelines for a product, process, or guideline.

Occupational Health and Safety information is essential to dealing with injuries, accidents, government and regulatory information.

Theses and Dissertations are important unpublished resources granted and retained by universities as capstone projects, these, and dissertations.

Open Education Resources (OERs) are digital ebooks and learning objects that can be used as open textbooks on a wide variety of general and disciplinary subjects.