Research Guides: Health Sciences: Articles

Articles

Journal articles are scholarly works that go through a quality control process called peer-review before they are published.

MEDLINE is available via OVID, PubMed, SciFInder-n and Web of Science Complete. Utilize MEDLINE's MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) which is the NLM controlled vocabulary thesaurus. Note that the Web of Science Complete database includes Web of Science Core Collection, BIOSIS and more...

Several databases provide access to regional, national and international news articles.

A select list of databases that include scholarly articles are listed below.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- Find Peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations
- Off-Campus access to Brock resources is available to users who configure their Google Scholar Settings as follows:
  1. Click on Scholar Settings
  2. Select 'Library links' from the left menu
  3. Type Brock in the Library links box, and click the search icon
  4. Select Brock in the resulting list
  5. Click on the 'Save' button
  6. Follow the Find it @ Brock links to access available full-text.
Web of Science Complete This link opens in a new window
- A multidisciplinary database providing up-to-date scientific, technology, and health-related research articles, conference proceedings, chemical data, and indexes in the biological sciences.
- Permitted Uses
- Provides simultaneous access to Web of Science Core Collection, MEDLINE, BIOSIS, ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Citation Index, Index Chemicus and several other scholarly collections.
MEDLINE - via OVID This link opens in a new window
- International literature on biomedicine, allied health fields and biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care.
- Coverage: 1946-current
- Permitted Uses
Basic Search Guide
Advanced Search: Keyword Searching
Advanced Search: Mapping
Embase This link opens in a new window
- Comprehensive biomedical database including more than 30 million records from more than 8,500 journals.
- Notable coverage of drug and pharmaceutical research, pharmacology and toxicology as well as robust international content.
- Coverage: 1974-current
- Permitted Uses
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
- Covers nursing, allied health, alternative therapies, biomedicine, consumer health, and health administration.
- Permitted Uses
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- All subjects of psychology and behavioural sciences
- Find scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, theses, dissertations and reports.
- PsycInfo is now available via the ProQuest platform. PsycArticles, PsycBooks and other APA content are available on the APA platform.
- Permitted Uses