Research Guides: MKTG 3P96: Marketing Research: Find Secondary Data

Finding Secondary Data

The links on this page point to frequently used secondary data sources including:

Socioeconomic & Demographic Data

Canada

United States

International

OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window Contains all publications and datasets since 1998 released by Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development, International Energy Agency, Nuclear Energy Agency, OECD Development Centre, PISA, and International Transport Forum.Brock Library subscribes to OECD Books, Papers & Statistics, but some areas are freely available to the public, such as the OECD Factbook, Working Papers, OECD Key Tables.Coverage: 1998-currentPermitted Uses
Statista This link opens in a new window Contains more than 1 million statistics on over 80,000 topics.Contains Statista dossiers and industry reports for 170 industries and 150 countries.Includes market forecasts, as well as market, industry and country outlooks and insights.

Sales, Consumer Spending & Market Share Data

Some industry reports may provide industry revenue data, which can be used to calculate a company's market share. See Ibisworld Industry Insider article: how to calculate market share.
Consult company financial reports or published sales figures as reported in trade publications. Some standard sources and tips on identifying additional sources of market share data appear below.
You may also be able to gather data on market share by searching in the Library's Business Databases (ProQuest One Business or Business Source Complete) for articles that mention the phrase "market share" along with your company name, industry name, or product category.

Statistics Canada

United States Government Sources

Library Databases

IBISWorld Industry Research Database This link opens in a new window Produces and publishes over 425 Canadian and 1,300 US Industry Reports at the 5-digit level of the NAICS code.Contains trends, statistics & analysis on market size, market share of major companies and industry growth rates.Permitted Uses
- The Library subscribes to the following modules in IBISWorld: Canada Industry Reports (NAICS), United States Industry Reports (NAICS), Canada Industry iExpert Summaries, United States Industry iExpert Summaries, United States Specialized Industry Reports, United States Specialized Industry iExpert Summaries, China Industry Reports (200 industries), Canada Industry Provincial Reports (50+ Ontario industries), and Canada Collection of Macroeconomic Business Environment Profiles.
Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window Canada and US market research, market analysis, product intelligence, and competitive intelligence reports.Coverage: Canadian Reports 2014-current ; US Reports 2008-current ; most reports updated annually; covers a wide variety of sectors, themes, and demographics.Permitted Uses
Passport This link opens in a new window Global market information that specializes in company profiles, industry reports, market share data, and consumer trend analysis of consumer products and services across 80 countriesPermitted Uses
- Includes Economies & Consumers, as well as Industrial-Canada reports for industries across the entire Canadian economy
Statista This link opens in a new window - Consumer Market Outlook - Digital Market Outlook

Locally-focused (Niagara) Data Resources

Niagara Sources (Data & Statistics Guide)
Institutional Planning, Analysis & Performance (Brock University)
View data on student headcounts and FTEs, retention and graduation, and labour market reports for Brock University programs. Brock Fact Sheets provide key statistics on an annual basis.
Niagara College at a Glance (Niagara College)

Other Secondary Data Sources

Don't forget to consider other stakeholders, such as Federal or Provincial Government Departments, Municipalities, Economic Development Agencies, or Industry Associations, as potential sources for secondary data.

Open Data Portals
Research and business intelligence (Government of Canada Business & Industry)
Industry sector data, financial benchmarks, labour trends and business statistics.