Skip to main content



Accounting

Accounting standards (CICA Handbook, IFRS), annual reports, articles, bankruptcy research, books, corporate governance, dictionaries & encyclopedias, tax research, writing & citing.

Finding Articles on Accounting Topics

Find articles in newspapers, magazines or academic journals on Accounting topics by starting on one of these Library Databases:

Finding Scholarly Accounting Journals

What are the top academic (peer-reviewed) journals in Accounting?

  • One way to determine this is to consult journal rankings such as the Journal Citation Reports (JCR) Database or the Scimago journal rankings. ‚Äč
  • JCR journal rankings are frequently used to identify the top journals in a field based on their impact factor. Accounting journals are included in the JCR Social Sciences Edition under the subject category of Business, Finance.
  • Many of the journals ranked in JCR are indexed in the Web of Science Core Collection Database, which consists of the Science Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

Citation Rankings

Databases / Search Engines

Finding Research Preprints & Working Papers

What are Working Papers?

One definition of a working paper is: "a preliminary paper, usually based on research, not intended for publication but rather for circulation by the author (or authors) to professional peers for comment". Source: ODLIS (Online dictionary for Library and Information Science) by Joan M. Reitz.

Researchers frequently publish early versions of their research as working papers. The following links are all good sources for identifying and accessing working papers in Accounting and related fields: