Research Guides: Accounting: Key Resources

Key Resources

Want to start searching right away? Here are the top 5 resources we recommend you check out first to get started. The library databases recommended below provide a variety of information related to accounting including scholarly articles, financial statements, annual reports, and standards.

CPA Canada Standards and Guidance Collection (CPA Handbook) This link opens in a new window
- Provides up-to-date information on the accounting and assurance standards, the implementation of IFRS, Accounting Standards for Private Enterprises, the Canadian Auditing Standards, and much more.
- Permitted Uses
- Contains the CPA Canada Handbook Accounting, the CPA Canada Handbook Assurance, the CPA Canada Public Sector Accounting Handbook, Canadian Auditing and Assurance Practice Notes, Management's Discussion and Analysis, Guidance of the Criteria of Control Board, the Risk Oversight and Governance Collection, and other publications.
S&P Capital IQ This link opens in a new window
- Contains financial data, analytics and research.
- Combines deep information on companies, markets and people worldwide with robust tools for analysis, idea generation and workflow management.
- Covers equities, fixed income, capital structure, credit ratings, transactions, private equity, ownership, macroeconomics and commodities.
- NOTE: Brock students, faculty, and staff must register individually as a New User using their Brock University email address & follow the directions to complete self-registration.
- Permitted Uses
ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
- Find scholarly journals, books, trade publications, dissertations, working papers, company, industry and market research reports, newspapers, business cases, ebooks, streaming video, and other sources relevant to research in business and economics.
- Permitted Uses
- Includes the ABI/Inform Collection, J. P. Morgan Research, the Entrepreneurship Database, the Business Video Database, the Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection, the Asian & European Business Collection, and the Business Market Research Collection. More Information.
Bloomberg Professional This link opens in a new window
- Up-to-the-minute news and prices from financial markets around the world.
- Subjects include, equities, money markets, currencies, bonds, commodities, mortgage-backed securities, and derivatives.
- Access provided by Goodman School of Business, Brock University.
- Permitted Uses
Mergent Market Atlas This link opens in a new window
- Contains global business and financial data including company and industry profiles and annual reports.
- Coverage: Current plus up to 15 years of historical data.
- Until June 2025 this content is also available on the legacy Mergent Online platform.
- Permitted Uses