Research Guides: ENTR 2P91: Entrepreneurship: Find Academic Research

What is Evidence-Based Management?

What is Evidence-based Management (EBMgt)?

"The systematic, evidence-informed practice of management, incorporating scientific knowledge in the content and process of making decisions". (Rousseau, 2012, p.3)

EBMgt consists of four fundamental activities:

Use of the best available scientific findings (e.g., peer reviewed academic research)
Systematic use of organizational facts (i.e. identifying relevant data and transforming them into useful knowledge)
Reflective and thoughtful judgment processes (critical thinking - questioning assumptions, evaluating evidence, etc.)
Ethical decision making and stakeholder considerations

Rousseau, D.M. (2012). Envisioning evidence-based management. In D. Rousseau (Ed.), The Oxford Handbook of Evidence-based Management (pp. 3-24). Oxford: Oxford University Press.

What is Critical Appraisal? (Center for Evidence-based Management)
Defines critical appraisal and presents a series of appraisal questions in order to judge the validity and relevance of scientific research.
Decision-Makers' Guide: The 12 Killer Questions (ESOMAR)
"The guide takes the form of a hierarchy of twelve questions, through which we would recommend decision-makers work in order to arrive at an informed view of the robustness of the consumer evidence they are using for decision-making."

Key Library Databases

Entrepreneurship research literature is scattered across a number of Business and Management disciplines. The following Library databases are recommended starting points for identifying relevant research findings on Entrepreneurship topics.
Remember to limit the results to Peer Reviewed (Scholarly) Journals, as these databases also include non-scholarly sources such as newspapers and business magazines.
Management research in applied fields (e.g.nonprofit organizations, sport management, tourism, etc. ) may also appear in specialized journals, so be prepared to broaden your search by identifying databases which focus on these areas.

ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
- Find scholarly journals, books, trade publications, dissertations, working papers, company, industry and market research reports, newspapers, business cases, ebooks, streaming video, and other sources relevant to research in business and economics.
- Includes the ABI/Inform Collection, J. P. Morgan Research, the Entrepreneurship Database, the Business Video Database, the Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection, the Asian & European Business Collection, and the Business Market Research Collection. More Information.
- Permitted Uses
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- All disciplines of business
- Find scholarly business journals, trade journals and business magazines
- Includes company profiles, industry reports, market research reports, country economic reports
- Permitted Uses
Leisure Tourism Collection This link opens in a new window
- Covers of all aspects of leisure, recreation, sport, tourism and the cultural industries.
- Find journal articles, ebooks, reports and statistical bulletins available through leisuretourism.com.
- Coverage: 1974-present.
- Permitted Uses

Scholarly Entrepreneurship Journals

The following is a selective list of scholarly entrepreneurship journals, but articles on topics related to entrepreneurship and new business ventures may appear in many other journals, so it is best to 'cast a wide net' by searching for your topic in one of the key business databases listed on this page.