Research Guides: Teacher Education: Articles

Finding Articles

Recommended for Education, these databases contain mostly journal articles but also professional and trade magazines, conference papers, theses, and more.

Find more databases on the Library Databases page. Click on Education for a list of databases covering education topics.

Education Source This link opens in a new window
- All levels of education from early childhood to higher education, as well as educational specialties
- Find scholarly journal articles, books, conference papers and ERIC documents
- Coverage: 1929-current
- Permitted Uses
ERIC This link opens in a new window
- The U.S. national database of education literature
- Covers all aspects of education
- 2 collections: Resources in Education for document literature (conference papers, books, research reports, dissertations), and Current Index to Journals in Education (published journal literature)
- Coverage: 1966-present
- Permitted Uses
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- Scholarly resources across all disciplines.
- Permitted Uses

Finding articles about children's literature

Try some of the following resources to find journal articles on an author/book or children's literature criticism.

Tips:

Search for an author in the Subject field to find articles about books by a particular author

Search for a specific book title to find information about that book, or add the book title to your author search
Add "criticism" to your search to find critical articles

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
(most comprehensive)
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
(includes full text to scholarly journals such as Children’s Literature, The Lion and the Unicorn, and Children’s Literature Association Quarterly)
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
- A comprehensive literature database for information on authors, their works, from all time periods and from around the world.
- Find biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews.
- Permitted Uses
Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window
- Poetry, prose and drama from the 8th to 21st century with criticism and reference material
- Includes Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL)
- Permitted Uses

Finding Journal Articles

Do you need to find peer-reviewed journal articles?

Peer-reviewed articles may also be referred to as scholarly, academic or refereed articles. These articles generally have the following characteristics:

written by scholars, researchers for an audience of fellow scholars and researchers
may contain footnotes or other notes
list many references
often contain original research
are usually lengthy

Before being published, a journal article must first go through a review process to ensure it meets accepted scholarly standards. The article should also contribute significant, original research to the field.

Watch What's Peer Review?