Research Guides: Reusable Content: Definitions

Definitions

Defining terms is essential to scholarly research. Individual Library Research Guides may include alternate disciplinary encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks... and scholarly resources. The following databases may be a key resources to find key definitions. Individual reference resources can be identified using the Omni database.

Google Dictionary Wiktionary Dictionary.com Cambridge Dictionary Online Merriam-Webster Word Hippo (thesaurus)

Databases below are a select list of scholarly resources.

Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
- Includes meaning, history, etymology, and pronunciation of words
- English language words from 1150 to the present
- Permitted Uses
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
- Interdisciplinary
- Includes Oxford Quick Reference of core subject, quotation, and language dictionaries and Oxford Reference Library of companions and multi-volume encyclopedias for longer, in-depth, essays and specialist definitions.
- Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
- Permitted Uses
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
- In-depth, peer-reviewed essays and introductions by leading scholars in Archaeology, Business & Management, Classical Studies, Criminology, Economics & Finance, History, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Music, Neuroscience, Philosophy, Physical Sciences, Political Science, Psychology, Religion, and Sociology
- Permitted Uses
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
- Find encyclopedias, handbooks and specialized reference sources for research.
- Interdisciplinary.
- Permitted Uses
Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new window
- Authoritative, interdisciplinary handbooks and encyclopedias across the social sciences.
- Brock owns the complete book, reference and navigator collection.
- Permitted Uses
SAGE Knowledge Homepage from SAGE Publications, Inc. on Vimeo.