Research Guides: MKTG 4P31: Consumer Behaviour: Find Academic Journal Articles

Find Academic Journal Articles

Finding academic research on consumer behaviour (or any other topic of interest) is an iterative process.

1. Select a Database

Research literature on Consumer Behavior is scattered across a number of academic disciplines including marketing and psychology. The following subject-specific Library databases are recommended as starting points for identifying relevant academic research findings on Consumer Behaviour:

ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window Find scholarly journals, books, trade publications, dissertations, working papers, company, industry and market research reports, newspapers, business cases, ebooks, streaming video, and other sources relevant to research in business and economics.Permitted Uses
- Includes the ABI/Inform Collection, J. P. Morgan Research, the Entrepreneurship Database, the Business Video Database, the Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection, the Asian & European Business Collection, and the Business Market Research Collection. More Information.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window All disciplines of businessFind scholarly business journals, trade journals and business magazinesIncludes company profiles, industry reports, market research reports, country economic reportsPermitted Uses
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window All subjects of psychology and behavioural sciencesFind scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, theses, dissertations and reports.PsycInfo is now available via the ProQuest platform. PsycArticles, PsycBooks and other APA content are available on the APA platform.Permitted Uses

2. Create a Search Strategy

Before you begin searching, you should create a search strategy (also known as a search statement) based on your research question, by identifying the keywords and combining them with connectors such as AND.

Topic: Consumer Privacy

Question: Have the advances in technology that have allowed for product personalization come at a cost to consumer privacy?

Sample Search Strategy: Consumers AND Privacy AND technology AND product personalization

For additional tips:

Please consult the Library's digital learning lessons on search strategies, evaluating sources, and more.

Brock Library Video Tutorials

3. Run the Search

Most Library databases offer a basic search and an advanced search option. For a brief review of the differences, consult the "Create a Search Strategy" module of the Library's Digital Learning site, which reviews the process of entering keywords and limiting your results:

What's a search strategy?

4. Retrieve articles

Most Library databases contain full text articles (often as PDFs). If you do not see the full text article, look for an option such as "Find Full Text" or "Full Text Online" . Some databases will display the Get It link. This will connect you to the A-Z list of Journals, where you can locate the full text article in another source (such as the journal publisher's own online platform).