Research Guides: ENTR 4P10: Planning New Venture Creation: Secondary Market Data

Secondary Market Data Sources

Secondary market data includes:

socioeconomic, demographic, geographic, and psychographic data
sales, market share, and spending data
mobile, social, and mass media data

Socioeconomic & Demographic Data

Customer markets can be segmented by geographic, demographic, psychographic, and behavioural factors, while business markets can be segmented by geographic, customer type, and buyer behaviour. (source: http://www.quickmba.com/marketing/market-segmentation).

You can gather this type of data on your target market using the following sources:

Best Bets for Canadian Consumer Markets

Best Bets for Canadian Business Markets

Canadian Business Counts and Statistics (Statistics Canada)
Statistics Canada gathers data through the Business Register Program to provide counts of active businesses by sector (two digit NAICS industry classification) and employment-size categories for Canada and the provinces and territories.

Passport This link opens in a new window
Consult Industry Overviews in Passport for firmographics (statistics on the number of companies within an industry by employment size), data on suppliers, B2B buyers, and other analysis.
- Includes Economies & Consumers, as well as Industrial-Canada reports for industries across the entire Canadian economy
IBISWorld Industry Research Database This link opens in a new window
Consult the Products & Markets section of any IBISWorld Industry Report for data and analysis on key buying industries, product & services segmentation, major market segmentation, and business locations.
- The Library subscribes to the following modules in IBISWorld: Canada Industry Reports (NAICS), United States Industry Reports (NAICS), Canada Industry iExpert Summaries, United States Industry iExpert Summaries, United States Specialized Industry Reports, United States Specialized Industry iExpert Summaries, China Industry Reports (200 industries), Canada Industry Provincial Reports (50+ Ontario industries), and Canada Collection of Macroeconomic Business Environment Profiles.

Niagara Resources

Is your target geographic market in the Niagara Region? If so, consult the list of Niagara Resources presented below.

Living in Niagara This link opens in a new window
- A report on the quality of life in the Niagara region.
- Published every 3 years, the report identifies significant trends across 12 sectors aligning with the social determinants of health. More information

Niagara Knowledge Exchange
The Niagara Knowledge Exchange provides access, news and ideas on Niagara-focused planning, collaboration, and community action.
Institutional Planning, Analysis & Performance (Brock University)
View data on student headcounts and FTEs, retention and graduation, and labour market reports for Brock University programs. Brock Fact Sheets provide key statistics on an annual basis.
Niagara College at a Glance (Niagara College)
A fact sheet with recent highlights and selected statistics related to Niagara College.

Sales, Market Share, & Spending Data

pie chart

A firm's market share can be calculated by dividing a firm's sales by total market sales (source:http://www.quickmba.com/marketing/market-share/).

Consult company financial reports or published sales figures as reported in trade publications. Some standard sources and tips on identifying additional sources of market share data appear below:

Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window
Passport This link opens in a new window
Provides brand share and company share data, consumer trends and lifestyles analysis, and other data on hundreds of countries worldwide.
- Includes Economies & Consumers, as well as Industrial-Canada reports for industries across the entire Canadian economy

Market Share Reporter
more info...close...
Earlier editions are kept in the print Reference book collection and on the 9th floor in the Library (Call No: HF 5410 M2).
Survey of Household Spending (Statistics Canada)

Mobile, Social, & Mass Media Data

Consult the following specialized sources to gather information on mobile, social, mass media, and other channels: