Research Guides: MBAB 5P23: Entrepreneurship: Home

Getting Started with Entrepreneurship Research

This guide is targeted at Brock University students enrolled in MBAB 5P23 (Entrepreneurship). It contains information to help you conduct research for your Feasibility Report, Full or Mini Business Plan, Business Model Canvas, or similar types of assignments.

Business Plan Research

	Startup Ecosystem
	Idea Generation / COVID-19 Trends & Impact
	Product/Service Feasibility
	Industry and Target Market
	Organizational Resources
	Financial Resources
	Find sample feasibility reports or Business Plans
	Get APA Style Help

Bonus Content

	Explore Business Models (including Nonprofit / Social Ventures)
	Learn about Consulting
	Learn about Elevator Pitches
	Find Academic Research
	Evaluate Information Sources

Please Note:

Some links in this research guide point to Library resources such as ebooks, databases, journals, or other subscription-based sources. You can access online sources from off-campus by signing in (when prompted) with your Brock University Username and Password. Look for the information icon
Other links will point to free or open access sources, which are indicated by an orange open padlock icon.

In a Hurry? Here are Your Best Bets!

For Industry & Market Data

IBISWorld Industry Research Database This link opens in a new window Produces and publishes over 425 Canadian and 1,300 US Industry Reports at the 5-digit level of the NAICS code.Contains trends, statistics & analysis on market size, market share of major companies and industry growth rates.Permitted Uses
- The Library subscribes to the following modules in IBISWorld: Canada Industry Reports (NAICS), United States Industry Reports (NAICS), Canada Industry iExpert Summaries, United States Industry iExpert Summaries, United States Specialized Industry Reports, United States Specialized Industry iExpert Summaries, China Industry Reports (200 industries), Canada Industry Provincial Reports (50+ Ontario industries), and Canada Collection of Macroeconomic Business Environment Profiles.
Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window Canada and US market research, market analysis, product intelligence, and competitive intelligence reports.Coverage: Canadian Reports 2014-current ; US Reports 2008-current ; most reports updated annually; covers a wide variety of sectors, themes, and demographics.Permitted Uses
Passport This link opens in a new window Global market information that specializes in company profiles, industry reports, market share data, and consumer trend analysis of consumer products and services across 80 countriesPermitted Uses
- Includes Economies & Consumers, as well as Industrial-Canada reports for industries across the entire Canadian economy
Statista This link opens in a new window Contains more than 1 million statistics on over 80,000 topics.Contains Statista dossiers and industry reports for 170 industries and 150 countries.Includes market forecasts, as well as market, industry and country outlooks and insights.

For Small Business Financial Data

Financial Performance Data (Industry Canada)

MBAB 5P23: Entrepreneurship