Skip to main content



MBAB 5P23: Entrepreneurship

A guide to sources useful for researching and writing a business plan.

Getting Library Help

Getting HelpDon't waste valuable study time!

If you have any questions about using Library Resources or accessing Library Services, online help is available:

  •  Just click on the Ask Chat with a Librarian icon which appears on the Library's Home Page, and within many of our Library Databases.
  • Send an email with your question to libhelp@brocku.ca
  • The Research Help section of the Library web site has information (including video tutorials) on basic and advanced research skills, as well as tech help.

Book a Consultation for Research Help

  • You may email me directly with your research questions at llowry@brocku.ca and I will attempt to respond as soon as possible, or by the next business day (Monday-Friday).
  • Use the Book a Consultation link (located under my photo) on the home page of this guide.
    • Consultations will take place via Microsoft Teams and can be booked for a 30 minute time slot between 9:30 am and 4:30 pm, Monday to Friday. 
    • If you are not available to meeting during these hours, please contact me directly by email to inquire about alternative arrangements.

 

Class Presentations & Step-by-step Search Demos

 

The Entrepreneurship Search Strategy Worksheet  is a great place to begin. Use it to keep track of NAICS codes, keywords, and business article database Subjects and Descriptors.

The following slides provide a quick review of how to access some of the key resources for your research including:

  • Looking up NAICS codes for your business concept
  • MintAmericas - search for a company by NAICS codes

Database Searching: Tips & Tutorials

The following database search guides and tutorials are useful for in-depth instruction on the specific features of individual databases or database platforms, and have been created by the database vendors (rather than by the Library). These tutorials cover the most popular business database platforms (ProQuest and Ebscohost).

Business Content (ProQuest)

Business Source (Ebscohost)

Factiva

Passport GMID (Euromonitor International)

Mintel Academic

  • Consult the Help menu within the Mintel Academic database for a MIntel Reports User Guide and Video tutorials

Mintel Academic Help Page