As part of your product/service feasibility analysis, you should conduct primary research with potential customers in order to assess the desirability of your new product/service idea, as well as evidence of likely demand. Examples of such research include concept tests and buying intention surveys.
Step 2: Supplement Your Primary Research With Secondary Research
You can find additional evidence of likely demand by looking for information about the new product or service in business, industry, or news sources available from Library Databases or other online sources.
"This article traces the origins of these two pervasive qualitative methods, identifies their similarities and differences, and discusses current issues that surround their uses in marketing-research today".
2. Find Evidence in Secondary Sources
Another method of assessing the demand for a product or service is to find articles written about the problem your proposed product or service is trying to solve. These articles may have been published online or in newspapers, business journals, or industry / trade magazines*
Omni Newspaper SearchThis link opens in a new windowSearch current and historical newspaper coverage.
Access World NewsThis link opens in a new windowAn extensive collection of local, regional and national newspapers from countries all over the world. Includes all major local Niagara papers.Permitted Uses
FactivaThis link opens in a new windowA current international news database from Dow Jones which provides access to premium content from 200 countries, in 28 languages.Users have access to a wide range of information from newspapers, newswires, industry publications, websites, company reports, and more.Permitted Uses
Nexis UniThis link opens in a new windowInternational news, business, and legal sourcesIncludes Company Dossier module for detailed company information and Shepard's Citations for federal and state court cases back to 1789Permitted Uses
Recommended Library Business Databases
ProQuest One BusinessThis link opens in a new windowFind scholarly journals, books, trade publications, dissertations, working papers, company, industry and market research reports, newspapers, business cases, ebooks, streaming video, and other sources relevant to research in business and economics.Permitted Uses
Includes the ABI/Inform Collection, J. P. Morgan Research, the Entrepreneurship Database, the Business Video Database, the Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection, the Asian & European Business Collection, and the Business Market Research Collection. More Information.
Business Source CompleteThis link opens in a new windowAll disciplines of businessFind scholarly business journals, trade journals and business magazinesIncludes company profiles, industry reports, market research reports, country economic reportsPermitted Uses
Canadian Business & Current Affairs DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinaryFind scholarly journal articles, magazines and newspapers with a Canadian perspective.Permitted Uses
Google News Search can be an effective tool for identifying the latest news stories from a wide variety of news sources. However, most publications are not freely available online, so your best bet is to look for the fulltext articles in one or more of the Library's News or Business Databases.
Step 1. Design & Conduct Primary Market Research 
Step 2: Supplement Your Primary Research With Secondary Research