Research Guides: MBAB 5P62: Marketing Research: Market &amp; Industry Research Reports

What are Commercial Market Research Reports?

Many market research firms and investment brokers produce company, country, market, and industry reports which may be purchased for a fee (often for thousands of dollars). If you are curious about these commercial research reports, you may search the catalog of market research publications available for sale at:

How to Find Research Reports in Library Databases

Find Research Reports in Business Source Complete (Ebsco)

Use Advanced Search. Enter your search terms (Travel OR Tourism) and limit the results by Publication Type to Industry Profile.
- This will capture content from: BMI Research, Barnes Reports, MarketLine, and other sources.
Use Advanced Search . Enter your search terms (e.g., Wine) and limit the results by Publication Type to Market Research Report.
- This will capture content from: Aroq - Just.Drinks.com, Aroq - Just.Food.com, Richard K. Miller's Market Research Handbooks, Marketwatch, and other sources.

Find Research Reports in Business Premium Collection (ProQuest)

Option 1: Use Advanced Search and combine your search terms / keywords (e.g., Wine) and limit your results by Document type to: Industry Report. This will retrieve reports from Fitch Solutions, First Research Industry Profiles, Worldwide Industry & Market Reports (Barnes Reports), etc.
Option 2: Use the Browse -> Industry and Market Research menu to browse report from:
- First Research Industry Profiles
- Just-Series Market Research Reports

Find Research Reports in Mergent Online

Analyst research reports are available from Investext tab from a wide variety of contributors including: Marketline, Oxford Business Group, Marketline. Company-focused broker research reports may also be accessed via the Report viewer tab.
ICB Industry Reports covering 11 broad industries (Basic Materials, Consumer Discretionary, etc.) and 20 supersectors (Automobiles and Parts, Banks, Basic Resources, etc.) are available in the Industry Analysis tab.

Find Research Reports in Other Databases

IBISWorld Industry Reports - search by keyword or NAICS, or browse the list of reports.
Mintel Academic - search by keyword, or browse the list of categories.
Passport GMID - offers a variety of discovery tools including searching categories and topics; browsing categories or topics, searching statistics, finding analysis, or exploring dashboards.
Statista - search by keyword or browse by industry or topic. The Global Consumer Survey has data on consumers, industries, and brands spanning 46 countries. Expert tools include the Consumer, Digital, and Mobility market outlooks.
S&P Capital IQ platform - Our subscription includes access to CFRA Equity Research Industry Surveys. Click on Research, and use the Quick Search tool to search by keyword (e.g. travel) and limit by report type to Industry Overview.

ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window Find scholarly journals, books, trade publications, dissertations, working papers, company, industry and market research reports, newspapers, business cases, ebooks, streaming video, and other sources relevant to research in business and economics.Permitted Uses
- Includes the ABI/Inform Collection, J. P. Morgan Research, the Entrepreneurship Database, the Business Video Database, the Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection, the Asian & European Business Collection, and the Business Market Research Collection. More Information.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window All disciplines of businessFind scholarly business journals, trade journals and business magazinesIncludes company profiles, industry reports, market research reports, country economic reportsPermitted Uses
IBISWorld Industry Research Database This link opens in a new window Produces and publishes over 425 Canadian and 1,300 US Industry Reports at the 5-digit level of the NAICS code.Contains trends, statistics & analysis on market size, market share of major companies and industry growth rates.Permitted Uses
- The Library subscribes to the following modules in IBISWorld: Canada Industry Reports (NAICS), United States Industry Reports (NAICS), Canada Industry iExpert Summaries, United States Industry iExpert Summaries, United States Specialized Industry Reports, United States Specialized Industry iExpert Summaries, China Industry Reports (200 industries), Canada Industry Provincial Reports (50+ Ontario industries), and Canada Collection of Macroeconomic Business Environment Profiles.
Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window Canada and US market research, market analysis, product intelligence, and competitive intelligence reports.Coverage: Canadian Reports 2014-current ; US Reports 2008-current ; most reports updated annually; covers a wide variety of sectors, themes, and demographics.Permitted Uses
Passport This link opens in a new window Passport GMID contains market research reports prepared by the staff at Euromonitor International. These reports cover topics related to global and national consumer trends and analysis of brands, companies, and industries (with a focus on Fast Moving Consumer Goods (FMCG)).
- Includes Economies & Consumers, as well as Industrial-Canada reports for industries across the entire Canadian economy
Statista This link opens in a new window Contains more than 1 million statistics on over 80,000 topics.Contains Statista dossiers and industry reports for 170 industries and 150 countries.Includes market forecasts, as well as market, industry and country outlooks and insights.
S&P Capital IQ This link opens in a new window Contains financial data, analytics and research.Combines deep information on companies, markets and people worldwide with robust tools for analysis, idea generation and workflow management.Covers equities, fixed income, capital structure, credit ratings, transactions, private equity, ownership, macroeconomics and commodities.NOTE: Brock students, faculty, and staff must register individually as a New User using their Brock University email address & follow the directions to complete self-registration.Permitted Uses

MBAB 5P62: Marketing Research