Research Guides: ENTR 2P51: Entrepreneurship Basics: News & Current Info

Find News & Current Information

One method of assessing the demand for a product or service, or for assessing industry and/or target market attractiveness, is to find articles written about the problem your proposed product or service is trying to solve, the industry and/or the target market. These articles may have been published in newspapers, business journals, or industry / trade magazines*
- *Examples of Canadian trade magazines include:

Google News Search
Google News Search can be an effective tool for identifying the latest news stories from a wide variety of news sources. However, most publications are not freely available online, so your best bet is to look for the fulltext articles in one or more of the Library's News or Business Databases.

Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window Full text of over 400 Canadian news sources.Most titles are updated daily, and some date as far back as the late 1970s. Permitted Uses
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window International news, business, and legal sourcesIncludes Company Dossier module for detailed company information and Shepard's Citations for federal and state court cases back to 1789Permitted Uses
Omni Newspaper Search This link opens in a new window Search current and historical newspaper coverage.

ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window Find scholarly journals, books, trade publications, dissertations, working papers, company, industry and market research reports, newspapers, business cases, ebooks, streaming video, and other sources relevant to research in business and economics.Permitted Uses
- Includes the ABI/Inform Collection, J. P. Morgan Research, the Entrepreneurship Database, the Business Video Database, the Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection, the Asian & European Business Collection, and the Business Market Research Collection. More Information.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window All disciplines of businessFind scholarly business journals, trade journals and business magazinesIncludes company profiles, industry reports, market research reports, country economic reportsPermitted Uses
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database This link opens in a new window InterdisciplinaryFind scholarly journal articles, magazines and newspapers with a Canadian perspective.Permitted Uses