Research Guides: Entrepreneurship: Socioeconomic &amp; Demographic Data

Socioeconomic & Demographic Data

Socioeconomic and Demographic data sources can be used to determine certain facts about a population. These facts can include where certain categories of consumers typically live, what income levels and age patterns are in the market, education levels and occupations of consumers, etc. Below is a list of websites and databases to get you started.

Niagara

Niagara Knowledge Exchange
Niagara Knowledge Exchange, hosted by Niagara Connects, is a place for people to access and exchange news and ideas on Niagara-focused planning, collaboration, learning, innovation and community action.
Living in Niagara
A report on the quality of life in the Niagara region. Published every 3 years, the report identifies trends across 12 sectors aligning with the social determinants of health.
Niagara Open Data
This site will enable you to access and use datasets from various organizations in Niagara, including: municipalities, community groups, provincial agencies, not for profits, schools and more.

Canada

The Daily (Statistics Canada)
The Daily is Statistics Canada's official release bulletin, so scanning recent issues or searching the Daily's archives are excellent ways to identify the latest available data products.
Statistics Canada Home Page
Use to access data tables, community profiles, thematic maps, and data visualization. Filter by keyword, subject, geography. You can also search by the former CANSIM table or vector number.
Census Program (Statistics Canada)
"The Census Program provides a statistical portrait of the country every five years. The 2016 Census Program includes the Census of Population and the Census of Agriculture."

United States

Data.gov
Data.gov is the United States Government's open data repository. Browse by topic, or search the collection of over 230,000 datasets.
Explore Census Data (US Census Bureau)
"Learn about America's communities through our data profiles. They cover 100,000+ different geographies: states, counties, places, tribal areas, zip codes, and congressional districts. For each, we cover topics like education, employment, health, and housing just to name a few."

International

European Data Portal
UNdata
A compilation of data from United Nations agencies and other international sources. Includes 14 databases and 6 glossaries containing over 55 million data points and covering a whole range of statistics including Population, Industry, Energy, Trade and National Accounts. Data can be retrieved by country or topic and viewed on screen or downloaded in a variety of formats.
World Bank Open Data
"Free and open access to global development data".

OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
- Contains all publications and datasets since 1998 released by Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development, International Energy Agency, Nuclear Energy Agency, OECD Development Centre, PISA, and International Transport Forum.
- Brock Library subscribes to OECD Books, Papers & Statistics, but some areas are freely available to the public, such as the OECD Factbook, Working Papers, OECD Key Tables.
- Coverage: 1998-current
- Permitted Uses