Research Guides: Marketing: Sales, Consumer Spending &amp; Market Share

Sales, Consumer Spending & Market Share

A mix of publicly available sites and library database data may be used to determine sales, market share, and consumer spending trends. Some industry reports may provide industry revenue data, which can be used to calculate a company's market share. You can also consult company financial reports or published sales figures as reported in trade publications.

Canadian Sources

United States Government Sources

Consumer Expenditure Survey (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics)
Monthly Retail Trade (US Census Bureau)
The Advance Monthly and Monthly Retail Trade Surveys (MARTS and MRTS), the Annual Retail Trade Survey (ARTS), and the Quarterly E-Commerce Report work together to produce the most comprehensive data available on retail economic activity in the United States.

Library Databases

IBISWorld Industry Research Database This link opens in a new window
- Produces and publishes over 425 Canadian and 1,300 US Industry Reports at the 5-digit level of the NAICS code.
- Contains trends, statistics & analysis on market size, market share of major companies and industry growth rates.
- Permitted Uses
- The Library subscribes to the following modules in IBISWorld: Canada Industry Reports (NAICS), United States Industry Reports (NAICS), Canada Industry iExpert Summaries, United States Industry iExpert Summaries, United States Specialized Industry Reports, United States Specialized Industry iExpert Summaries, China Industry Reports (200 industries), Canada Industry Provincial Reports (50+ Ontario industries), and Canada Collection of Macroeconomic Business Environment Profiles.
Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window
- Canada and US market research, market analysis, product intelligence, and competitive intelligence reports.
- Coverage: Canadian Reports 2014-current ; US Reports 2008-current ; most reports updated annually; covers a wide variety of sectors, themes, and demographics.
- Permitted Uses
Passport This link opens in a new window
- Global market information that specializes in company profiles, industry reports, market share data, and consumer trend analysis of consumer products and services across 80 countries
- Permitted Uses
- Includes Economies & Consumers, as well as Industrial-Canada reports for industries across the entire Canadian economy
Statista This link opens in a new window
- Contains more than 1 million statistics on over 80,000 topics.
- Contains Statista dossiers and industry reports for 170 industries and 150 countries.
- Includes market forecasts, as well as market, industry and country outlooks and insights.